Thursday, June 18, 2015

Movie review of Mad Max:Fury Road

Mad Max Fury Road - 8.5/10
Directed by George Miller
Written by George Miller, Brendan Mcarthy
Cast - Tom Hardy, Charlize Theron, Nicholas Hoult

Plot Summary
An apocalyptic story set in the furthest reaches of our planet, in a stark desert landscape where humanity is broken, and almost everyone is crazed fighting for the necessities of life. Within this world exist two rebels on the run who just might be able to restore order. There's Max, a man of action and a man of few words, who seeks peace of mind following the loss of his wife and child in the aftermath of the chaos. And Furiosa, a woman of action and a woman who believes her path to survival may be achieved if she can make it across the desert back to her childhood homeland.

Review
Mad Max: Fury Road is by far the best movie of 2015. I was thrilled about it when I saw the trailer. I had very high expectations for this as I am a big fan of the Mad Max series. All 3 Mad Max movies were fantastic in their own apocalyptic way. And now after so many years, George Miller finally does Mad Max: Fury Road, it fucking blew my mind. I was not disappointed at all. MMFR was so fucking good,that I actually watched it twice in the cinema and that's a very rare thing to do so nowadays.(The last time I watched a movie twice in the cinema was The Conjuring)

From the get go, MMFR is one long non stop action filled chase. I pretty much loved everything about the movie. The colouring of day and night. Day being rich with red and night being blue. Editing was fantastic. From all the making of videos I have seen, what the editing team has done helped keep the fluidity of the movie. I also loved the costume, the make up of each characters and group and how each vehicle assembled have a story of its own. Even little things like character names were good. What can go wrong with names like Imperator Furiosa, Immorten Joe,War boys, Organic Mechanic and many more. Just the sheer process of pre production of just using storyboards first so as the movie will be more visually captivating is brilliant.
Casting was fantastic. Tom hardy is a perfect replacement for Mel Gibson who will forever be remembered as Mad Max. And just like Mad Max's character in all the movies, he doesn't talk too much. Hugh Keays-Byrne returns as Immorten Joe, he was Toecutter in the first Mad Max though you can't really see his full face but he was perfect as the villain. I have to say Charlize Theron really held out on her own. She pretty much was the main protagonist and Mad Max was like her side kick. I really hope to see her again in the next Mad max movie cause she made her character unforgettable.

What I really loved about MMFR is the action sequences and choreography. When a movie has 20% CGI and the rest is all real, you better do it right. And George Miller did it perfectly. The action sequences, the car crashes, the stunts all beautifully choreographed and it truly was awe inspiring to watch.

Like I mentioned before, Mad Max: Fury Road was well worth the wait and its my number one movie for 2015 so far. Thank you, George Miller for this masterpiece, I look forward to your next work.

I am definitely buying the special edition blu ray for this,

Best Quotes
Nux: Oh, what a day... what a lovely day!

Nux: I live, I die. I LIVE AGAIN!

Immortan Joe: You will ride eternal, shiny and chrome.

Max Rockatansky: [Narrating] My name is Max. My world is fire and blood. Once, I was a cop. A road warrior searching for a righteous cause. As the world fell, each of us in our own ways were broken. It was hard to tell who was more crazy... me... or everyone else.

Recommended movies done by the director
Mad Max
Mad Max: The Road Warrior
Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome
Babe
Witches of Eastwick

Monday, June 15, 2015

Movie review of San Andreas

San Andreas - 2/10
Directed by Brad Peyton
Written by Carlton Cuse, Andre Fabrizio, Jeremy Passmore
Cast - Dwayne Johnson, Carla Gugino, Alexandra Daddario, Ioan Gruffudd, Paul Giamati

Plot Summary
In the aftermath of a massive earthquake in California, a rescue-chopper pilot makes a dangerous journey across the state in order to rescue his daughter.

Review
Definitely one of the worst movies this year. If San Andreas was released 10 to 15 years ago like quite a number of disaster movies of that time, perhaps it would have stand a chance but not today. One of the many flaws of San Andreas is its heavy reliance on CGI. Yes, The CGI was spectacular but how many times are you going to watch buildings fall and get destroyed? After awhile, I really got bored with the destruction.

Casting was a disaster. You have Dwayne Johnson aka The Rock as a Black dad who is extremely muscular, and you have Carla Gugino who is white and you have Alexandra Daddario who is pale and has huge tits.The chemistry between the three doesn't seem like a family cause of the obvious age gap and it does get a little uncomfortable at times. The women in the movie will be wearing singlets at one point, shedding their clothes away and camera will be focusing on their tits from time to time. I don't even know why Ioan Gruffudd is there in the first place. Suddenly his character becomes sort of an asshole and has to be killed of spectacularly.
Acting was horrid. I could clearly see the actors pretty much didn't give a shit about acting and just did the work for a paycheck and hoping the CGI effects will cover everything.
Bad enough the acting was horrible,what didn't help at all was the script. Script was absolute shit. If the writers were trying to do those classic one liners script, they have failed miserably. There is not a single memorable one liner at all. And all of them were face palm moments and groan worthy.
One of the most ridiculous scenes that pissed the fuck out of me was the tsunami scene. The Rock and "his soon to be ex wife but she is considering to go back to him again because her current boyfriend who is filthy rich but becomes as asshole later on the movie" wife, Carla are on a boat trying to rescue their daughter. They reach the docks, the Rock notices that there is a tsunami waiting to happen so he drives to boat towards the tsunami beating other boats to go above the huge fucking wave,that was coming towards them. As they reach the top of the wave, suddenly a huge ship is right in front of them and they can swerve the fucking boat away from the ship, missing them. They manage to go above the wave and still can stop to look back. "Fuck you Cheebye." That's what i said at the end of that scene.

When the trailer first came out, I thought they were making a movie out of the game, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas which has a little truth to it cause the fucking protagonist can drive any fucking vehicle. From planes to helicopters to boats to cars. Knn.

Don't watch this crap in the cinemas. It is a waste of money. In fact, don't even bother watching this movie at all, at least your blood pressure wont go up. Fuck San Andreas.


Quotes
None

Recommended movies done by the director
None

Monday, May 4, 2015

Movie review of Furious 7

Furious 7 - 5.5/10
Directed by James Wan
Written by Chris Morgan, Gary Scott Thompson
Cast - Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham

Plot Summary
Dominic Torretto and his crew thought they left the criminal mercenary life behind. They defeated an international terrorist named Owen Shaw and went their separate ways. But now, Shaw's brother, Deckard Shaw is out killing the crew one by one for revenge. Worse, a Somalian terrorist called Jakarde, and a shady government official called "Mr. Nobody" are both competing to steal a computer terrorism program called God's Eye, that can turn any technological device into a weapon. Torretto must reconvene with his team to stop Shaw and retrieve the God's Eye program while caught in a power struggle between terrorist and the United States government.

Review
I liked watching the Fast and Furious series. Its just fun filled with testosterone and loads of fast expensive cars to which I have no idea or interest. Its pretty much, "don't think too much about anything, just enjoy the action" kinda movies. Furious 7 is a lot different from the first few movies as it focuses heavily on action instead of the cars. Its still entertaining but I guess car enthusiasts wont be overly excited about it.
This sadly is the last movie, Paul Walker is in as he tragically died in an car accident. As production was not completed, some of Paul Walker's scenes were either done in CGI or acted out by his other brothers. It was hard to tell if it was CGI or the brothers but the very last scene, it was very obvious but that scene had to be done. What I liked about the plot is the director didn't want Walker's character to die or get killed instead of him just leaving the game and being happy with his family. That is a fitting tribute indeed.
Action sequences are over the top and sometimes a little too exaggerated. I did not like the camera works. Some of the cuts are too rushed and that whole falling down together with the actor is done way too many times. I remember that shot because it was done in James Wan's previous movie, The Conjuring. This is also the first time James Wan is directing an action movie(he has been doing horror mostly). I didn't really like his style of direction, I felt that the previous director Justin Lin would have made a better director as he is more familiar with the Fast and Furious franchise. Script was downright horrible. I am a fan of corny lines and what not. But if the scriptwriters were going for that whole 80s cool one liners thing, they failed. Script was absolute shit. Acting was not that great. Michelle Rodriguez was still going on about her amnesiac stuff and that was a little whiny but she had a really well choreographed fight scene with UFC's female MMA champion, Rhonda Rousey. That was fun to watch. The fight scene between the Rock and Jason Statham was better than the fight between Vin Diesel and Statham. The later fight was quite ridiculous. I'm pretty sure they will carry on with an 8th Fast and Furious movie as the ending was quite open.

I kinda enjoyed watching Furious 7. It may now be the highest grossing movie of the Fast and Furious franchise but I still prefer the later solely because of direction. I just hope the 8th one, Justin Lin will be back in the director's seat for it. Worth watching on a weekend if you are a fan.

Quotes
[last lines]
Dominic Toretto: [remembering the time he had with Brian] I used to say I live my life a quarter mile at a time and I think that's why we were brothers - because you did too. No matter where you are, whether it's a quarter mile away or half way across the world. The most important thing in life will always be the people in this room, right here, right now. Salute mi familia. You'll always be with me. And you'll always be my brother.

Recommended movies done by the director
The Conjuring
Saw

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Movie review of Avengers:Age of Ultron

Avengers:Age of Ultron - 7.5/10
Directed by Joss Whedon
Written by Joss Whedon, Stan Lee (comic)
Cast - Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, 
Scarlet Johansson, Chris Evans, Jeremy Renner, James Spader

Plot Summary
When Tony Stark tries to jump start a dormant peacekeeping program, things go awry and Earth's Mightiest Heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, are put to the ultimate test as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance. As the villainous Ultron emerges, it is up to The Avengers to stop him from enacting his terrible plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected action pave the way for a global adventure.

Review
The first Avengers was a fantastic film. It had pretty good graphics, story line was good, script was funny and alot of fan boy moments for comic book enthusiasts as well. I was eagerly waiting for the second one. Maybe I was a little too eager and got my hopes up too high for this. Don't get me wrong, its not a terrible movie or anything. Its just normal and I could go as far as to say that its forgettable. I definitely won't be watching Avengers 2 a second or third time in the cinemas. The most I would go is if it happens to be on cable and I really have nothing else to watch, then I would watch it.

Graphics are still good. All the action sequences were fun to watch like the Hulk buster vs Hulk (however I did not like how it ended but that's because I am very biased towards Hulk). Cast is pretty much the same except for Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch. Those two, I found them totally unnecessary. You can't call them mutants cause of contractual obligations instead you call them, The Enhanced which is stupid. So may as well don't include them at all because there really were not that integral to the story. And the accents.... terrible.
James Spader as Ultron was perfect. His voice had that tone which was evil and filled with confidence. Every scene with Ultron was great.
I did not like the plot. There were just too many things involved and ongoing. I wished the plot was simpler. But the saving grace is the script, because every time a particular scene seems alittle boring or exaggerated, the script helps to keep it together and made me forget that part was boring or exaggerated. Also the script helped certain characters that were deemed too boring in the first Avengers, notably Hawkeye.
Editing was not bad. This is possibly the last movie which will be directed by Joss Whedon. It wasn't good but it wasn't shit either.

Still a fun movie to watch on a weekend. All Marvel fans will have to go and check it out for yourselves. There is no post credit scene but there is a short one midway.

Quotes
Maria Hill: [from trailer] All set up boss.
Tony Stark: Actually he's the boss.
[points to Captain America]
Tony Stark: I just pay for everything and design everything, make everyone look cooler.

Ultron: [sitting in a church] They put the building in the middle of the city, so that everyone could be equally close to God. I like that, the symmetry, the geometry of belief.

Bruce Banner: Tony, this might not be the time.
Tony Stark: Really? That's it? You just rollover, show your belly, every time somebody snarls?
Bruce Banner: Only when I've created a murder bot.

Tony Stark: In the back? Dick move, Banner.

Recommended movies done by the director
The Avengers
Serenity

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Movie review of Chappie



Chappie - 3/10
Directed by Neil Blomkamp
Written by Neil Blomkamp, Terri Tachell
Cast - Sigourney Weaver,Hugh Jackman, Sharlto Copey, Dev Patel

Plot Summary
In the near future, crime is patrolled by a mechanized police force. When one police droid, Chappie, is stolen and given new programming, he becomes the first robot with the ability to think and feel for himself.

Review
I was really looking forward to watch this. Neil Blomkamp's earlier works have been pretty good and he has been a decent director. But sadly Chappie is not and it is pretty bad. The only good thing about Chappie was the idea and that's about it. Like the saying goes, " Idea is there, execution is not."

The casting is horrible. Sigourney Weaver is just about there for two to three scenes. You may as well don't need to have Hugh Jackman in it cause his role, anybody could have done it. In my opinion, Jackman did not do enough to make his character more memorable. The only reason Dev Patel is in this movie is because he's Indian and they needed an IT computer guy. Hahaha. anyway Patel tends to overact sometimes and he was doing that in some scenes. And then you have Die Antwoord. Rappers, Ninja and Yolandi may have some pretty interesting tunes and all but they cannot act for shit. Horrible horrible acting from the both of them. Every scene they are in I am cringing and groaning at their delivery of lines and acting. In fact at some parts of the movie, I started to think that Chappie is just a long ass music video glorifying Die Antwoord. Someone should tell them to just stick to rapping cause their horrid acting is not going to convince anybody.
I did not like the direction and the editing was terrible. There were so many obvious inconsistent cuts. The robots were a little boring and I'm not sure about everyone but to me Hugh Jackman's robot, The Moose does look similar to the bad robot in Robocop.(The one that cant go down the staircase) and I absolutely loathe the ending. Sick and tired of this "happily ever after" bullshit. If you are going to do something as sloppy and shitty as this for the next Alien movie. Then you are no better than that French fuck of a director who did Alien Resurrection. Don't fuck the next one up, Neil Blomkamp and don't get fucking rappers as actors either.

Don't bother watching on a weekend. Just wait for the cable release. Chappie is forgettable.

Quotes
None. Script is shit.

Recommended movies done by the director
District 9
Elysium