Monday, January 16, 2017

Movie review of Underworld: Blood wars


Underworld: Blood wars - 3/10

This movie shouldn't have been made in the first place. Absolute shit. There is nothing in this movie that is remotely as good as the first three movies at least. The only good thing about Underworld is that Kate Beckinsale still looks great in leather and that's all.

The whole plot is so boring and predictable. Vampires are stubborn twats and werewolves are idiots. And the explanation of Mr half vampire half werewolf who is the father to Selena's weird child aka Scott's disappearance was just plain lazy.

Then you have a vampire clan who are in some place that is covered in snow and if you sort of learn their special move or join their clan, you get to have blonde hair or in Selena's case, blonde streaks in her hair. Of course she couldn't go fully blonde because she is a goth kind of vampire. Knn. Fuck this shit.


Don't bother with Underworld Blood wars if you don't want to ruin your day.

Friday, January 6, 2017

Movie review of The Girl with all the gifts

The girl with all the gifts - 7.5/10

I watched this movie without reading any synopsis and I was totally blown away. The girl with all the gifts is a fucking awesome movie. A fantastic and interesting take on a classic genre that has been rehashed over the years. To me, TGWATG is like a cross between 28 days later and Lord of the flies.

From the get go, I was saying to myself, "What the fuck is going on?" and I kept asking myself that at least 5 times throughout the movie. I really liked the direction of Colm McCarthy who has been directing TV series so far. The special effects in this movie is not great but that isn't the focus of the movie. The focus is more on the storytelling and acting.

Casting is good. You have Glenn Close who can be scary and a cheebye at times. Gemma Arterton was decent too. I have always enjoyed watching Paddy Considine and I expected nothing less from him in here as well. There is one scene which I would like to mention is the scene which Anamaria Marinca (Dr. Selkirk) and Glen Close are acting. It's one of my favourite scenes in TGWATG. Anamaria was fucking awesome in it. Sennia Nanua as Melanie, started kind of annoying to me at the start of the movie. But it was all part of the plot and I have to admit, as a kid, she acted brilliant and I would love to see future movies from her. A really good upcoming child actor.

Really worth watching it on a weekend when it's out in the cinemas. i will definitely get the Blu ray for this as well. I would highly recommend The girl with all the gifts to fans who love movies like 28 days later.

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Movie review of Passengers

Passengers - 6.5/10

I was pleasantly surprised watching this movie. The story line was interesting even though it had the Hollywood-esque romantic angle in it. Ending is a typical Hollywood end but still Passengers was fun to watch.
Director Morten Tyldum did a good job in this. I really liked his previous works, the Imitation Game and Headhunters.
Wonderful special effects especially the swimming pool scene, loved it.
Casting wise, I would say, Christ Pratt was good but the chemistry between him and Jennifer Lawrence felt a little stiff to me. Didn't quite liked how Jennifer Lawrence looked as well. Perhaps another actress would have been a better fit. Lawrence Fishburne had a brief scene and that's a good thing. Even shorter scene was a barely recognizable and old, Andy Garcia who didn't even have a line. But the actor who stole the movie for me is the unforgettable Michael Sheen. And that one reveal scene, he was in. Sheen was perfect for it. That scene alone is worth the ticket money for me. I was the only one laughing cause of that look he gave. Absolutely brilliant.

All in all, Passengers is a good romantic movie to watch with your other half and you wont fall asleep cause there isn't too much lovey dovey shit in it and there is enough action to keep you interested.
Worth watching on a weekend.

Friday, December 30, 2016

Movie review of Rogue One

Rogue One  - 8/10

I couldn't wait for this movie to be out and when I finally had the chance to watch it, Rogue One did not disappoint me one bit.
I loved the pacing of the movie, started slow and then towards the end it went full blast. The storytelling was good as well. It was really nice when they added characters from the Star Wars expanded universe and also from the animated series, Rebels.

I was also happy they did not alter the ending, meaning no one survives. The last thing, I want to see is the protagonist getting away and doing another 3 more fucking movies or worse, make 2 parts of 1 movie with a long draggy end.(Fuck Hunger Games)

Director Gareth Edwards did a good job. Editing was fantastic and the special effects were awesome.

Casting for Rogue One was good. A lot more diversity in it. It was really nice to see Diego Luna. I haven't seen him in movies for awhile now. First time I have heard of him is the now classic, Y Tu Mamá También. Felicity Jones as Jyn was good. I have not seen much of her movies but I'm sure to check her out now. This is just me but between Felicity Jones and Daisy Ridley(Force Awakens), I prefer Felicity. Mainly because she doesn't have that Keira Knightley syndrome and Daisy tend to have that. And Alan Tudyk as K-2SO was brilliant.

Great to see Forest Whitaker and not so great to see Donnie Yen. Yup, I still find Donnie Yen's acting annoying.

The characters I was impressed were the back to life CGI character of Tarkin(late Peter Cushing) and the young Princess Leia(late Carrie Fisher). The CGI is absolutely amazing.

Of course nothing beats towards the end of the movie when Darth Vader arrives and rapes almost every one of those rebel scums. And to make it even more sweet, James Earl Jones does the usual VO. So I am a happy man.

Worth watching on a weekend and I will definitely get the blu ray for this.

May the force be with all of you.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Movie review of Suicide Squad

Suicide Squad - 3.5/10


I watched Suicide Squad with extremely low expectations. All because of Batman vs Superman was a major shit fest and I did not like the trailers as well. The thing is you have to watch SS with low expectations and then only maybe.... just maybe can you enjoy the movie a bit.

First of all, what the fuck is up with the fucking music? Is there a fucking need to put a song clip every 2 mins(exaggerated)? Yes, the song selections are good but there is no need to cram all kinds of songs in a movie. there are moments where there are 2 to 3 songs in just one scene. That's just silly.

Casting is a little hit and miss for me. Will Smith as a black Deadshot... ok lah, he usually does pretty good movies and selects his roles well unless he has to act with his idiot son, then we have a problem. Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn is not bad actually. That was quite a bit of a surprise to me. You have these two cheebyes, Jai Courtney and Joel Kinnaman. One fucker ruined Die Hard 5 for me (Fuck you), while the other fucker ruined Robocop (Fuck you too). Cara Delevingne, pretty girl but I don't know what or who the fuck is an Enchantress and I didn't really care until the end where she is making some sort of machine and she is doing that by dancing. That really reminded me of the demon in Ghostbusters (original not the new shit) and that demon does a better job than lanjiaotress. Fuck that. Killer Croc has weird tits(thanks Josh) and Diablo is a whiny pussy. Oh, you also have a Navajo cheebye from the movie Windtalkers who has a screen time of 2 fucking mins. WHY?

One of the main reasons I wanted to watch Suicide Squad was to see Jared Leto's portrayal of the Joker. But unfortunately, he has only about 10 mins of screen time and I can't really judge him from that. His Joker is definitely different than Heath Ledger's Joker, that's for sure. In fact, he shouldn't even be in this movie at all. He appears more in that Rick Ross music video, Purple Lamborghini than this movie.

All because of the one reason why Suicide Squad sucked major ass. It's the editing. This movie has one of the worst editing done. There are so many scenes and shots cut out that sometimes I have no fucking idea what is going on. Whatever you have seen in the trailers does not appear in the final cut. I don't know if it is about timing issue or the editors just wanted to fuck shit up. I sincerely hope there is a director's cut for SS and I hope it makes more sense.

Watch Suicide Squad on a weekday or just wait for the extended version cause the cuts will piss you off.