Sunday, February 16, 2014

Movie review of Lone Survivor

Lone Survivor - 6/10
Directed by Peter Berg
Written by Peter Berg, Marcus Luttrell
Cast - Mark Wahlberg, Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch, Ben Foster, Eric Bana

Plot Summary
Marcus Luttrell and his team set out on a mission to capture or kill notorious Taliban leader Ahmad Shah, in late June 2005. Marcus and his team are left to fight for their lives in one of the most valiant efforts of modern warfare.

Review
Peter Berg has done a few good movies which I have enjoyed watching.And some horrible ones also which I have watched as well.Last one he did was Battleship,I prefer to call it Battleshit cause that was horrendous.Lone Survivor on the other hand was not so bad even though there was an excessive amount of American patriotism.
Casting for this movie was ok, I guess as the main focus is more on the main character which is played by Mark Wahlberg. I am beginning to enjoy Mark Walberg's performances as of late.Fella has definitely improved so much in terms of acting and all.The good thing to which Peter Berg did was, he did not make the actors as the pivotal focus of the movie,instead he made the story as the main focus and of course the copious amount of patriotism.One Actor whom I always liked is Ben Foster.I'm just waiting for his big break perhaps a role as an ultimate villain or something cause he really looks like one.Kitsch and Hirsch were there basically as fodder.
Direction wise, What Peter Berg did was, he made a movie which can pretty much be used as a recruitment video for the Navy seals.From the starting credits, you will see clips of soldiers training and all that,if that is your kinda shit,then you will enjoy the movie. There was one particular scene which i was awed for the first ten seconds... soldiers falling off a cliff, the way they were falling was dramatic and unbelievable, and just when I was about to wonder how could they manage to be alive from that fall. They started falling off a second cliff again, and that was when it started to become funny. Because the whole time, you feel these soldiers are just falling off rocky cliffs only.And they really took a long fucking time reaching bottom. And then I start to notice that they have been shot at about 5000 times ( I'm exaggerating of course) and they are still alive.. barely but still can kill bad guys. It may be true though cause the movie portrays the navy seals as very tough and not easy to die. That's when the whole patriotism bullshit kicks in full speed. And every time I see a scene which has full blown American patriotism,I remember that South Park's Team America song... America....fuck yeah. Hahaha. I did however liked how the movie ended even though it was a typical Hollywood end.

All in all,Lone Survivor does have its moments but its a forgettable movie. If you really enjoy military movies,then you will find this enjoyable.If you are not,then give it a miss. Watch it on a weekday at best.

Best Quotes
Shane Patton: Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards.

Marcus Luttrell: Hey, Mikey. I'm about ready to punch that time card.
Michael Murphy: Do it.

Shane Patton: I'm a lover, I'm a fighter, I'm a UDT Navy SEAL diver. I'll wine, dine, intertwine, and sneak out the back door when the refueling is done. So if you're feeling froggy, then you better jump, because this frogman's been there, done that and is going back for more.

Recommended movies done by the director
Very Bad Things
The Kingdom
Hancock
Friday night lights

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Movie review of Dallas Buyers Club

Dallas Buyers Club - 8/10
Directed by Jean-Marc Vallée
Writtend by Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack
Cast - Matthew McConaughey, Jennifer Garner, Jared Leto

Plot Summary
In 1985 Dallas, electrician and hustler Ron Woodroof works around the system to help AIDS patients get the medication they need after he is himself diagnosed with the disease.

Review
I wanted to watch this movie solely because of the recent rave reviews, Matthew McConaughey has been getting for his acting. And boy they weren't wrong,Matthew McConaughey was fantastic. From romantic comedies where he is shirtless every 5 mins to really solid acting and losing weight for roles and all.
Based on a true story, the main actor has to be right for the role.From what I read this script has been lying around for quite sometime until it was recently picked up.And according to Roon Woodroof's sister, Matthew McConaughey personated him the best. From the swagger to the accent and all. I thoroughly enjoyed watching McConaugheyin every scene.The other actor who almost pretty much stole every scene he was in was none other than Jared Leto. Leto who has been absent from filming for awhile due to his band commitments as he is the lead vocalist for a metal band called Thirty seconds to Mars. I'm not much of a fan of his band and all but I have to say I always enjoyed his acting when I first watched him in An American Psycho. Leto as well lost alot of weight for his role and was in drag all the time. Apparently he remained in character even during off camera. The chemistry between this two was good and funny as well. Jennifer Garner was pretty OK as well.Nothing fantastic,nothing memorable just OK.
Jean-Marc Vallée did a decent job directing this.Pretty direct and simple. Camera works were good as they managed to capture the actor's emotion pretty well. Especially in scenes where there is banter among Leto's and McConaughey's characters. I also like the coloring and tone of the movie which suited to the storyline well. Script was brilliantly written.

All in all, Dallas Buyers Club is a pretty good movie, if you have an open mind and enjoy good acting.
It's gonna be tough but McConaughey might just nick the best actor for this one even though he is facing stiff competition from Christian Bale for American Hustle and Leonardo DiCaprio for Wolf of Wall Street. Hope he wins though. So do check this out.

Best Quotes
Ron Woodroof: I swear it, Ray, God sure was dressin' the wrong doll when he blessed you with a set of balls.

Ron Woodroof: Let me give y'all a little news flash. There ain't nothin' out there can kill fuckin' Ron Woodroof in 30 days.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Movie review of The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street - 8.5/10
Directed by Martin Scorsese
Writers - Terence Winter (screenplay), Jordan Belfort (book)
Cast -  Leonardo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Matthew McConaughey, Kyle Chandler

Plot Summary
Based on the true story of Jordan Belfort, from his rise to a wealthy stockbroker living the high life to his fall involving crime, corruption and the federal government.

Review
I have to say this movie is the definite return of Martin Scorsese. Wolf of Wall Street is so good that I can compare it to his other masterpiece, Goodfellas. Almost everything in this movie is near perfection. It may be 3 hours long but you will never feel the time as scene after scene, you as the viewer will get totally immersed into the life of Jordan Belfort.
Casting for this movie is really good. Leo Dicaprio has a very good chance of winning the best actor for the Oscars this time.The boy has definitely grown into a fine actor. From a shit movie called Titanic, to Django to this. Dicaprio has become one of those few actors, I will follow his movies no matter what. And his sidekick, Jonah Hill. I have nothing but praise for him.He really turned up a notch for this. There was this particular scene involving a goldfish,Jonah was so into his character that he wanted to do it for real just because there were other actors there going all out on their roles. There are so many scenes which you will either laugh or groan with Jonah Hill's character.Definitely another actor to look out for in the near future. Even Matthew McConaughey in those short scenes were memorable. That thing he does with his chest in one particular scene. I'm very sure alot of people who have watched this movie will do it. I sure as hell am guilty of doing that when I think of Wolf of Wall Street. And that was actually how Matthew McConaughey psyches himself up before he goes on camera. DiCaprio spotted it and asked him to include that in the movie. And playing Belfort's dad was none other than Rob Reiner ( director of When Harry met Sally and A few good men). I havent seen him in a while and here he is spewing profanities like crazy which is so unlike Rob Reiner.hahaha. Margot Robbie who plays Belfort's second wife was fantastic.She held out on her own against the male actors. She even did the accent very well plus she has a great pair of tits.
One of my favourite things about Wolf of Wall Street were the editing and camera works.Editing was fucking amazing and you can see the smooth flow between shots and all.Some of the camera works and editing were purposely done to be edgy,blurry and all but it was done because to make sure the viewer feels what it was like under the influence of drugs and what not. Direction was solid. I'm so happy Marty went back to stories which he tells it best and not some sappy bullshit.
I really loved the script alot. It was brash,vulgar and fucking funny. There are so many lines to use for parties and shit.
Another cool thing is that Leo DiCaprio and Scorsese used their own funds to produce this so there wont be any interference from movie bigwigs telling them to cut down the profanity or the excessive violence and sexual content so that the younger audience can watch and they can make money out of it. I say fuck the kids. A story should be told as it is.If you take out integral parts of the story due to nudity or profanity,you are compromising the story and if you still think that the story is not important, then you are a fucking idiot. So kudos to Leo and Marty for doing what they did for this movie.

Highly recommended that everyone should watch this movie. Everyone...
I have watched Wolf of Wall Street twice now and I can't wait for the blu ray to come out for this.

Best Quotes
Jordan Belfort: I am not gonna die sober!

Jordan Belfort: You want a beer, pal?
Donnie Azoff: What are you drinkin'?
Jordan Belfort: I got this non-alcoholic shit...
Donnie Azoff: What's that?
Jordan Belfort: It's like a non-alcoholic beer. It's got no... no alcohol.
Donnie Azoff: It's a beer?
Jordan Belfort: Yeah, with no alcohol.
Donnie Azoff: But, you drink enough and... you drink a lot and it'll get you fucked up?
Jordan Belfort: No, there's no alcohol. That's the fuckin' point.
Donnie Azoff: I'm not a scientist; I don't know what the fuck you're talking about. I can get you beer if you want fuckin' beer.
Jordan Belfort: I know, but I don't drink, remember? I don't drink anymore?
Donnie Azoff: What, you wanna go inside and blow some lines of baking powder, baking soda? Can't imagine ever not enjoying getting fucked up. I love it.
Jordan Belfort: Yeah...
Donnie Azoff: How's being sober?
Jordan Belfort: It fuckin' sucks.
Donnie Azoff: Boring, right?
Jordan Belfort: So boring. I'm gonna kill myself.

Naomi Lapaglia: Who's Venice?
Jordan Belfort: Who? Who?
Naomi Lapaglia: Who? Who? What are you, a fuckin' owl?

Recommended movies done by the director
Goodfellas
Casino
Shutter Island

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Movie review of American Hustle

American Hustle - 7/10
Directed by David O Russell
Writers - Eric Singer, David O. Russell
Cast - Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Renner, Jennifer Lawrence, Louis C.K

Plot Summary
A con man, Irving Rosenfeld, along with his seductive British partner, Sydney Prosser, is forced to work for a wild FBI agent, Richie DiMaso. DiMaso pushes them into a world of Jersey power brokers and mafia.

Review
The first two scene of the movie pretty much shows what era the movie is and how the feel of the movie is going to be like. The whole 70s Disco vibe was through out the whole movie. from the sound track, the costumes and right down to the coloring of the movie.
I loved the casting for American Hustle. I have to say everyone did an amazing job. Jennifer Lawrence did such a great job on her character, you are definitely bound to get annoyed with her. The chemistry between Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams and Christian Bale was pretty good. Lots of animosity and love. My favourite chemistry between two actors was the scenes of Louis CK and Bradley Cooper. Louis was being Louis. He would have pretty much stole the show if Christian Bale wasn't acting in it. And of course Bale does his usual shit and its always amazing to watch him. Bale gained 40 pounds for this role and hurt his back from slouching too much. well, that's how hardcore he goes into his role. Mad props to him for that. As for the plot, it states at the start of the movie that some of this actually happened,so some parts may be true but just been "Hollywood"ized.
I really liked the costume designs for American Hustle, from the clothes to the hairstyles and especially those little curls for Bradley Cooper's character. They were really... dare I say it? Funky... The make up was pretty sleek as well especially for Bale. Direction for the movie was pretty good. David O Russell has had experience working with most of the actors from his previous movies, Silver lining playbook and the fighter. I liked that David O Russell gave the actors the freedom instead of a script which really makes some of the scenes really powerful. My favourite was the bedroom scene with Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. I didn't quite like the camera works for certain scenes like there were sometimes a little too much unnecessary close ups. The other thing which kinda puts me off was the length of the movie. It was way too long but I kinda understand why the director wanted to do with such a timely length which was needed to pull off a stunt which was pivotal to the plot.

All in all, it is a good movie to watch and I would recommend it to watch on a weekend as well.

Best Quotes
Paco Hernandez: This whole thing is racist. Abscam? "Arab-scam"? It's completely racist!
Richie DiMaso: So what do you have to worry about, Sheik? You're Mexican.

Rosalyn Rosenfeld: We fight and then we fuck, that's our thing.

Sydney Prosser: You're nothing to me until you're everything.

Recommended movies done by the director
The Fighter
Silver Linings Playbook
Three Kings

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Movie review of Special ID

Special ID - 0.5/10
Directed by Clarence Fok
Written by Kam-Yuen Szeto
Cast - Donnie Yen, Andy On, Zhang Hanyu

Plot Summary
A cop and his team of comrades go undercover in one of China's most ruthless underworld organizations to stop a gang leader, only to put themselves in great danger after being exposed one by one.

Review
All along I have been witnessing the steady decline of Hong Kong cinema ever since it was integrated into China. I would dare say the last greatest HK movie ever done was the unforgettable Infernal Affairs (which is my favourite Chinese movie). Even that was ruined by making it into a trilogy. Which I steadfastly refuse to acknowledge. Part 2 which was a prequel is ok but definitely not part 3 because it was utter rubbish and it has that useless piece of shit fucktard Leon Lai in it.Fuck him and and Fuck Part 3.
However, after watching Special ID, I pretty much just watched the death of HK cinema. This is by far the worst Chinese movie I have ever watched. I felt cheated. What a waste of time. I wish I had Diarrhea instead of watching this.

From the get go, Special ID turns to immediate shit. First the make up looked fake especially the tattoos and all.Then the acting...My god the acting is just plain horrible. I understand that its a martial arts action movie but COME ON!!! you got to act at least a little man... I now know Donnie Yen can't act for nuts. And then  there is Zhang Hanyu, the female lead. This woman's acting is so bad that she makes those china KTV hostesses look like Shakespearean actresses. When she acts fierce, you want to slap her.When she cries,you still want to slap her. And she has that weird hair that either looks like a wig or it really is a wig. And my favourite... the gangsters. When you watch Special ID you will probably think that the gangsters have Tourette's syndrome or they are Bi Polar cause half the fuck time they are either shouting at one moment and the immediate next they are soft spoken. It's ridiculously funny till it becomes irritating halfway through the movie.

Direction is most likely done by an orangutan with Munchausen syndrome. One of the worst direction I have seen in a movie.So haphazard and badly directed that I have seen better direction in porn. Editing was bad also especially those shitty transitions.Camera works were horrible as well. Wrong focuses at times and unnecessary crane shots at the wrong time. Pretty much it's wrong shots at the wrong time. There are some scenes you would wonder what the fuck is going on because all three fuck ups are happening at the same time. Editing,camera work and direction.Bad acting is throughout the movie.At least that was consistent.
That 0.5 only goes to the fight scenes and they were poorly done as well.

Special ID is so fucking bad,you may as well get Tsui Hark to direct and Leon Lai to act in it.
All in all I will not recommend anyone to watch this piece of shit movie in the cinema.Don't waste your money and time.Instead go rent Infernal Affairs Part 1.
And Fuck Leon Lai.

Best Quotes
None.

Recommended movies done by the director
Fuck him, Don't bother.